APS Bridge Program

Member Institutions

The following institutions have joined the APS Bridge Program. If you would like to have your institution join the APS Bridge Program, apply for membership.

  • Agnes Scott College
  • American University
  • Augsburg College
  • Bryn Mawr College
  • California State Polytechnic University (Cal Poly Pomona)
  • California State University Long Beach
  • Carleton College
  • Central Washington University
  • Chatham University
  • Chicago State University
  • City College of New York
  • Delaware State University
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Emory University
  • Florida State University
  • George Mason University
  • Georgia State University
  • Graduate Center of the City University of New York
  • Hampton University
  • Haverford College
  • Howard University
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Indiana Univ. Purdue Univ.
  • Indianapolis (IUPUI)
  • Lebanon Valley College
  • Lehman College, City University of New York
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Mississippi State University
  • Morehead State University
  • New Mexico State University
  • Northeastern University
  • Ohio State University
  • Old Dominion University
  • Oregon State University
  • Penn State University
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Randolph College
  • San Francisco State University
  • Syracuse University
  • Texas Southern University
  • Texas Tech University
  • University of Arkansas
  • University of California, Santa Cruz
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Houston Clear Lake
  • University of Idaho
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Michigan
  • University of New Mexico
  • University of North Carolina - Greensboro
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of Texas at San Antonio
  • University of Utah
  • University of Wisconsin La Crosse
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Virginia Tech
  • Western Illinois University
  • Wright State University

The APS Bridge Program is developing a coalition of academic institutions that share a commitment to increasing educational opportunities for underrepresented minority physics students.

Becoming a Member Institution

APS Bridge Program membership is free. Institutions that are actively working to improve diversity in the physics community may join. This network of member institutions will share innovative ideas, learn from leaders in the field, and promote awareness of the importance of diversity in physics.

The Bridge Program offers institution membership to colleges and universities as well as national labs, non-profits, and educational organizations that play supporting roles in improving diversity in physics education.

Membership Benefits

To maintain membership, we ask members to annually update their profiles on the APS Bridge website. We also ask members to provide data on the number of minority students graduating from their programs to allow us to advocate nationally on these issues.

Apply for Membership

To apply for membership, please submit the following items:

  1. A completed membership application form.
  2. A letter from your institution’s physics department head or chair sent to BridgeProgram@aps.org that includes the following:

If you have any questions about the Bridge Program, please contact BridgeProgram@aps.org.


APS Bridge Program Membership